Honorary and Perpetual Members

The Sprite Club has recognised certain members for their significant contributions to the Club with Perpetual or Honorary Membership.

Founder Members

The following members of the Sprite Club, those members whose efforts and energy lead to, and resulted in, the first meeting of the Sprite Club and the forming of the first recognised Committee, are recognised as the Founder Members and are granted membership in perpetuity of the Club. Without the efforts of these members, we would not have a Sprite Club today.

Reinhardt Walker

Richard Stokes

Mandy Stokes

Dean King

Helen King

Kevin Warren (dec)

Marilyn Warren

Life Members

The following members have been recognised for their ongoing efforts to promote, foster and preserve Austin Healey Sprites and MG Midgets within the Sprite Club of South Australia and in the wider classic motoring community.

John Bowering (dec)

Judy Bowering (dec)

Gordon Boyce

Gary Brock

Fay Brock

Ken Dutch

Mary Dutch

David Low

Dianne Low

Grant Stephenson

Sue Stephenson

Alan Symonds

Jan Symonds

Julie Williams

Honorary Members

Honorary Membership is membership bestowed on non-members for their contribution to the Sprite Club of South Australia. The following people have been recognised:

Ralph Dodd (dec)

Ruth Dodd (dec)

Ralph and Ruth Dodd, of Bordertown South Australia, were the parents of one of the Founder Members, Mrs Mandy Stokes. The Dodds hosted an annual event that brought together the Sprite Club of South Australia and the Austin Healey Sprite Drivers Club (of Victoria). The annual ‘Bordertown Weekend’ as it became known, was held on their property from the early 1970s through until the mid 2000s. The clubs camped and competed in all manner of competition events each year, drawing interest from other interstate Sprite and Midget owners as well.

In their hometown of Bordertown their friendship and generosity is recognised with a seat and plaque in the Bordertown Nature Reserve. Ruth can be seen sitting next to her daughter Mandy.

Please contact the Webmaster if any of the above information is incorrect or requires updating